Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Release Day Review: Man & Beast by Michael Jensen #Review #Giveaway

Author: Michael Jensen
Book: Man & Beast
Series: The Savage Land Book 1
Publisher: BK Books
Publication date: November 29, 2016
Length: 307 pages

Reviewed by Meredith


What is the line that separates man from beast?

The year is 1797, and 24-year-old John Chapman is lost on the American frontier with winter falling fast. Near death, he stumbles upon a lone cabin, and the owner, a rugged but sexy frontiersman named Daniel McQuay, agrees to let John winter over.

John and Daniel quickly find themselves drawn to each other, the sex between them unlike anything John has ever known. But as the weeks turn into snowbound months, Daniel begins to change into someone brutish, and the line between man and beast disappears.

With the arrival of spring, John flees, eventually finding refuge in the company of a group of frontier outcasts, including a brash young settler named Palmer. But in the wilds of this savage land, love is not so easily tamed, and John soon finds himself calling upon the raging animal within him to save the man he loves.

Man & Beast, which The Advocate calls “equal parts romance novel and history lesson, heaped with sex and violence,” is the first book in the Savage Lands, a series that celebrates the untold gay history of the American frontier. Man & Beast is for fans of Harper Fox, Jerry Cole, K.J. Charles, and Mary Renault, as well as anyone who enjoys pulse-pounding suspense and romance.


I'm going to be honest; I was a little nervous about this book. When it comes to frontier living my knowledge is not vast. I'm from the time of the game The Oregon Trail and shows like Little House on the Prairie and Doctor Quinn Medicine Woman. Man & Best show us a frontier that is way different than that.

John Chapman is not only trying to survive and thrive 1797 in the frontier, but he's doing it as a gay man. You thought times were tough now? oh no!

This story is quite suspenseful and though my knowledge of this time isn't the best; there's no doubt in my mind the author did outstanding research. There's some serous eye opening times in this book. Terrible things that nearly gut you.

Michael Jensen was able to pull out the beauty in this terrible time. He engaged the readers to the characters and wrote wonderfully descriptive. He kept me on the edge of my seat numerous times throughout this story.

The best thing about this book was that it's absolutely memorable. I was thinking about it long after I finished. I'm looking forward to more of this series.


Enter the monthly review giveaway!
It ends tomorrow!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment